Scientific Classification of Sea Turtles

Friday, November 25, 2011


  1. Reptiles are a class of cold-blooded vertebrates - their body temperature varies with their environment. Reptiles include snakes, lizards, crocodiles, and turtles.
  2. Reptiles have scaly skin, breathe air with lungs, and have a three-chambered heart.
  3. Most reptiles lay eggs, although some produce eggs that hatch internally.


This order includes all turtles and tortoises. It is divided into three suborders: Pleurodira (side-necked turtles), Cryptodira (freshwater turtles, snapping turtles, tortoises, soft-shelled turtles, and sea turtles), and Amphichelydia (a suborder of turtles that is now extinct).


Most scientists recognize two families of sea turtles:

  1. Family Cheloniidae includes all sea turtles with scutes (horny plates) covering their shells.
  2. Family Dermochelyidae are scuteless turtles with only one modern species; the leatherback turtle. A leatherback turtle is covered with leathery skin. It is the only marine turtle whose backbone is not attached to the inside of its shell.


Most scientists recognize seven species and one subspecies of sea turtles:

1. green (Chelonia mydas); two subspecies the green (Chelonia mydas mydas) and the black or Eastern Pacific green turtle (Chelonia mydas agassizii)

black sea turtle (Chelonia mydas agassizii)

green sea turtle (Chelonia mydas mydas)

2. loggerhead (Caretta caretta)

3. Kemp's ridley (Lepidochelys kempii)

4. olive ridley (Lepidochelys olivacea)

5. hawksbill (Eretmochelys imbricate)

6. flatback (Natator depressus)

leatherback (Dermochelys coriacea)


cardiacku said...

Jadi lebih mengenal akan penyu sobat...Makasih

Post a Comment